

Queensland Teachers Union of Employees Certificate of Election

The Queensland Industrial Registrar issued Decisions, pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, on 4 April 2023 that the Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) conduct an election for the Queensland Teachers Union of Employees for the following positions:

Office	No. of Positions
Branch Delegate to an Area	a Council
Logan Redlands Area Coul	ncil
Logan West Branch	1
Woodridge Branch	2
Metropolitan Central Area	Council
Sherwood Branch	1
South Brisbane Branch	1
Metropolitan North Area Co	ouncil
Brisbane North Branch	1
Deception Bay Branch	1
Narangba Valley Branch	2
Pine Rivers North Branch	1
Metropolitan South Area C	ouncil
Camp Hill Branch	1
East Brisbane Branch	1
Metropolitan West Logan A	Area Council
Beaudesert Branch	2
Fassifern Branch	1
Ipswich East Branch	2
Sunshine Coast Area Coun	ıcil
Caloundra Branch	1
Maleny Branch	1
Nambour Branch	2

Office No. of Positions
State Council Representative of a Branch
Gympie Branch1
Ipswich West Branch1
Narangba Valley Branch1
Redlands Branch1
Area Council Officers
Logan Redlands Area Council
Vice-President1
Metropolitan North Area Council
President1
Secretary1
Sunshine Coast Area Council
Secretary1
State Council Representative of an Area Counci
Logan Redlands Area Council1
TAFE Council Representative for a Branch or Group of Branches
TQB - Logan1
TQEC – Fraser Coast1
TQOL - TAFE Queensland On Line1
TQSW – Bundamba1



|Table 1 - Positions of Office



A Notice of Election and Nomination Form detailing the election arrangements was distributed to members in the Union journal on Friday, 5 May 2023. The timetable for the election was advertised as follows:

- Nominations open on Friday, 5 May 2023;
- Nominations close at midday on Monday, 5 June 2023;
- Secret Postal Ballot, if required, will open Monday, 10 July 2023;
- Ballot to close at midday on Tuesday, 8 August 2023.
- Attendance ballots, if required will be conducted at the relevant meeting after the close of nominations.

Nominations

Nomination forms were received by the following:

Office	No. of Positions	Nominees	
Branch Delegate to an Area Council			
Logan Redlands Area	a Council		
Logan West Branch	1	HAWTHORN, Kelsey	
Woodridge Branch	2	No nomination received	
Metropolitan Central	Area Council		
Sherwood Branch	1	No nomination received	
South Brisbane Brancl	h1	No nomination received	
Metropolitan North A	rea Council		
Brisbane North Branch	ı1	No nomination received	
Deception Bay Branch	1	No nomination received	
Narangba Valley Bran	ch2	No nomination received	
Pine Rivers North Brai	nch1	No nomination received	
Metropolitan South A	Area Council		
Camp Hill Branch	1	No nomination received	
East Brisbane Branch.	1	No nomination received	
Metropolitan West Lo	ogan Area Council		





Beaudesert Branch2	No nomination received	
Fassifern Branch1	BAUER, Suzanne defective	
Ipswich East Branch2	No nomination received	
Sunshine Coast Area Council		
Caloundra Branch1	DAVIES, Ashlie	
Maleny Branch1	HORTON, Jennifer	
Nambour Branch2	No nomination received	
State Council Representative of a Branch		
Gympie Branch1	TRUEMAN, Warwick Howard	
lpswich West Branch1	No nomination received	
Narangba Valley Branch1	ROOS, Nikki	
Redlands Branch1	No nomination received	
Area Council Officers		
Logan Redlands Area Council		
Vice-President1	No nomination received	
Metropolitan North Area Council		
President1	SCHICK, Julianne	
Secretary1	CHRISTENSEN, Ann	
Sunshine Coast Area Council		
Secretary1	DAVIES, Ashlie	
State Council Representative of an Area Council		
Logan Redlands Area Council1	TURNER, Helen	
TAFE Council Representative for a Branch or Group of Branches		
TQB - Logan1	No nomination received	
TQEC – Fraser Coast1	THOMAS, David	
TQOL – TAFE Queensland On Line1	WEST, Paula	





TQSW - Bundamba......1 No nomination received

Table 2 - Summary of Nomination

The following nomination was found to be defective and was rejected after allowing 7 days for it to be rectified.

 Suzanne Bauer – Fassifern Branch Delegate to Metropolitan West Logan Area Council

The ECQ accepted the nomination of all other candidates as inquiries with the Union's membership records revealed that they are eligible for election to the positions of office contested.

Ballots

The ECQ was not required to conduct a ballot to declare the positions.

Declaration

I, <u>SUZANNE PETA BALL</u>, an officer of the Electoral Commission of Queensland assigned to conduct an election by the Industrial Registrar in Decisions RIO 2023/ 58-64 issued pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, DECLARE THAT: -

<u>KELSEY HAWTHORN</u> is elected to the office of Logan West Branch Delegate to Logan Redlands Area Council.

<u>ASHLIE DAVIES</u> is elected to the office of Caloundra Branch Delegate to Sunshine Coast Area Council.

<u>JENNIFER HORTON</u> is elected to the office of Maleny Branch Delegate to Sunshine Coast Area Council.

<u>WARWICK HOWARD TRUEMAN</u> is elected to the office of State Council Representative of Gympie Branch.

<u>NIKKI ROOS</u> is elected to the office of State Council Representative of Narangba Valley Branch.

<u>JULIANNE SCHICK</u> is elected to the office of Metropolitan North Area Council President.





<u>ANN CHRISTENSEN</u> is elected to the office of Metropolitan North Area Council Secretary.

<u>ASHLIE DAVIES</u> is elected to the office of Sunshine Coast Area Council Secretary.

<u>HELEN TURNER</u> is elected to the office of State Council Representative of Logan Redlands Area Council.

<u>DAVID THOMAS</u> is elected to the office of TAFE Council Representative for a Branch or Group of Branches – TQEC-Fraser Coast.

<u>PAULA WEST</u> is elected to the office of TAFE Council Representative for a Branch or Group of Branches – TQOL-TAFE Queensland On Line

within the <u>QUEENSLAND TEACHERS UNION OF EMPLOYEES</u> in accordance with the Rules of the Industrial Organisation.

Suzanne Ball **Returning Officer** 15 June 2023

