

Queensland Teachers Union of Employees

Certificate of Election

The Queensland Industrial Registrar issued Decisions, pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, on Monday, 5 December 2022 that the Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) conduct an election for the Queensland Teachers Union of Employees for the following positions:

Office	No. of Positions
Member of Executive	12
Member of Executive – TAFE Division	1
Member of Executive – Aboriginal and/or Torre	es Strait Islander1
Member of TAFE Executive Committee	6
Trustee	2
able 1 – Positions of Office	

A Notice of Election and Nomination Form detailing the election arrangements was distributed to members in the Union journal on Friday, 17 February 2023. The timetable for the election was advertised as follows:

- Nominations open on Friday, 17 February 2023;
- Nominations close at midday on Monday, 13 March 2023;
- Attendance ballot, if required, to be conducted at the relevant meeting after the close of Nominations.

Nominations

A nomination form was received by the following:





Office	No. of Positions	Nominees			
Member of Executive					
		BAILEY, Maika			
		BROADHURST, Lisa			
		CLEARY, Joshua			
		DARBEN, Peter			
		ELKINS, Nicole			
		HANCOCK, Shane			
		HANLON, Joel			
		HOLCOMBE, Liam			
		JOHNSTONE, Mark			
Member of Executive	12	KERMODE, Kate			
		MCCARTNEY, Thomas			
		MONTAGUE-CLARKE, Natalie			
		MUNRO, Cassandra			
		NUNAN, Paula Mae			
		POPE, Paige Elizabeth defective			
		SHIRLEY, Nicholas Loye			
		SMITH, Christopher Daniel			
		TAYLOR, Penny			
		THOMPSON, Andrew			
Member of Executive-	TAFE Division				
Member of Executive-T	AFE Division1	TIBALDI, Scott William			
Member of Executive-Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander					
Member of Executive –		POWER, Amanda			
Aboriginal and/or Torres	s Strait Islander1	TAYLOR, Penny			





Member of TAFE Executive Committee					
	ABBAS, Andrew Gerrit				
	GREEN, Scott				
Member of Executive-TAFE Division6	KELLY, Suewellyn				
	TIBALDI, Scott William				
	TREVINO, Jennifer				
Trustee					
	HOLMES, Jennifer				
Trustee2	MENGEL, Donald Clyde				
	TAYLOR, Penny				

Table 2 - Summary of Nominations

The following nominations were found to be defective or ineligible after the ECQ allowed seven (7) days for them to be rectified.

Candidate	Position
POPE, Paige Elizabeth	Member of Executive

The ECQ accepted the nomination of all other candidates as inquiries with the Union's membership records revealed that they are eligible for election to the position of office contested.

Ballots

The ECQ conducted an attendance ballot on Saturday, 13 May 2023 at the Union Council meeting to declare the following positions:

- Member of Executive
- Member of Executive Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander
- Trustee

All ballots were counted under the Optional Preferential voting system.





Member of Executive

Twelve (12) to be elected

Results in Ballot Paper Order -

Formal ballot papers = 117 Informal ballot papers = 4 Total ballot papers = 121

As there are 12 candidates to be elected to the position each ballot paper contains 12 votes. 117 X 12 = 1,404

Primary vote count is at follows:

Candidates in Ballot Paper order	Primary vote totals
MONTAGUE-CLARKE, Natalie	109
BAILEY, Maika	78
DARBEN, Peter	99
MUNRO, Cassandra	71
TAYLOR, Penny	41
KERMODE, Kate	84
THOMPSON, Andrew	66
NUNAN, Paula M	61
MCCARTNEY, Tom	81
BROADHURST, Lisa	92
HANCOCK, Shane	91
CLEARY, Joshua	95
SMITH, Chris D	51
JOHNSTONE, Mark	31
HANLON, Joel	86
ELKINS, Nicole	78
HOLCOMBE, Liam	95
SHIRLEY, Nicholas	95
Total votes	1,404

Table 3 – Primary votes count for Member of Executive





Distribution of preferences is as follows:

Candidates	B/f	Excluded	Total	Excluded	Total	Excluded	Total	Excluded	Total	Excluded	Total	Order	Status
		Johnstone		Taylor		Smith		Nunan		Thompson			
MONTAGUE-CLARKE, N	109	0	109	0	109	0	109	0	109	0	109	3	Elected
BAILEY, Maika	78	0	78	3	81	1	82	3	85	4	89	11	Elected
DARBEN, Peter	99	1	100	0	100	1	101	1	102	1	103	4	Elected
MUNRO, Cassandra	71	0	71	1	72	1	73	2	75	1	76	13	Elected
TAYLOR, Penny	41	0	41										
KERMODE, Kate	84	1	85	2	87	3	90	3	93	2	95	9	Elected
THOMPSON, Andrew	66	2	68	1	69	1	70	1	71				
NUNAN, Paula M	61	0	61	2	63	1	64						
MCCARTNEY, Tom	81	0	81	0	81	0	81	0	81	0	81	12	**
BROADHURST, Lisa	92	1	93	1	94	2	96	2	98	3	101	6	Elected
HANCOCK, Shane	91	1	92	1	93	2	95	4	99	3	102	5	Elected
CLEARY, Joshua	95	0	95	1	96	2	98	6	104	6	110	2	Elected
SMITH, Chris D	51	1	52	3	55								
JOHNSTONE, Mark	31												
HANLON, Joel	86	1	87	2	89	1	90	2	92	2	94	10	Elected
ELKINS, Nicole	78	2	80	3	83	5	88	4	92	8	100	7	Elected
HOLCOMBE, Liam	95	5	100	5	105	6	111	4	115	7	122	1	Elected
SHIRLEY, Nicholas	95	0	95	0	95	0	95	0	95	0	95	8	Elected
Exhausted		16		16		29		32		34			
Total		31		41		55		64		71			

Table 4 – Secondary preference votes count for Member of Executive

^{**} In accordance with Rule 9.1(b) (ii) 1 In the case of the triennial election of Executive, no fewer than six (6) of the twelve (12) other members elected by Council shall be female.



Member of Executive - Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander One (1) to be elected

Results in Ballot Paper Order -

	Count	Status
TAYLOR, Penny	41	
POWER, Amanda	79	Elected
Formal Votes	120	
Informal Votes	1	
Total Votes	121	

Table 5 – Votes Counted for Member of Executive – Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander

Trustee

Two (2) to be elected – Each formal Ballot Paper contains two (2) votes

Results in Ballot Paper Order -

	Count	Status
TAYLOR, Penny	46	
HOLMES, Jennifer	97	Elected
MENGEL, Don	97	Elected
Formal Votes	240	
Informal Votes	1	
Total Votes	241	

Table 6 - Votes Counted for Trustee





Declaration

I, Suzanne Peta Ball, an officer of the Electoral Commission of Queensland assigned to conduct an election by the Industrial Registrar in Decision RIO 2022/ 263, 264, 266 issued pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, declare that: -

LIAM HOLCOMBE, JOSHUA CLEARY, NATALIE MONTAGUE-CLARKE, PETER DARBEN, SHANE HANCOCK, LISA BROADHURST, NICOLE ELKINS, NICHOLAS SHIRLEY, KATE KERMODE, JOEL HANLON, MAIKA BAILEY AND CASSANDRA MUNRO are elected to the office of Member of Executive.

<u>SCOTT WILLIAM TIBALDI</u> is elected to the office of Member of Executive – TAFE Division.

<u>AMANDA POWER</u> is elected to the office of Member of Executive – Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander.

ANDREW GERRIT ABBAS, SCOTT GREEN, SUEWELLYN KELLY, SCOTT WILLIAM TIBALDI AND JENNIFER TREVINO are elected to the office of Member of TAFE Executive Committee.

<u>JENNIFER HOLMES AND DONALD CLYDE MENGE</u> are elected to the office of Trustee.

within the Queensland Teachers Union of Employees in accordance with the rules of the Industrial Organisation.

Suzanne Ball Returning Officer 6 June 2023

