

Queensland Independent Education Union of Employees

Interim Certificate of Election

The Queensland Industrial Registrar issued a Decision, pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, on 16 May 2024 that the Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) conduct an election for the Queensland Independent Education Union of Employees for the following positions:

Office No. of Positions
General Member of Council
Branch Representative Member of Council
Bayside Branch1
Central Queensland Branch1
Darling Downs Branch1
Early Childhood Branch1
Far North Queensland Branch1
Gold Coast Branch1
_ogan Branch1
Mackay Branch1
Metropolitan Branch1
Moreton Branch1
North Metropolitan Branch1
North Queensland Branch1
Principals Branch1
Sunshine Coast Branch1
Nide Bay Branch 1

Executive

Trustee	3
Table 1 – Positions of office	





A Notice of Election and Nomination Form detailing the election arrangements for the General Member of Council, Branch Representative Member of Council and Trustee was provided to the Union for distribution to members for the opening of nominations on Wednesday, 10 July 2024. The timetable for the election was advertised as follows:

- Nominations open at 9:00am on Wednesday, 10 July 2024;
- Nominations close at 5.00 pm on Wednesday, 31 July 2024;
- Secret Postal Ballot, if required, will open Thursday, 5 September 2024;
- Ballot to close at midday on Monday, 30 September 2024.

The following positions will be determined once the ballot conducted has been finalised to identify eligible members.

Executive

President	1
Vice President	2
General Secretary	1
Assistant General Secretary/Treasurer	1
Assistant General Secretary	1
Assistant General Secretary	1
Member of Executive	2

A Notice of Election and Nomination Form detailing the election arrangements for the President, Vice President, General Secretary, Assistant General Secretary/Treasurer, Assistant General Secretary and Member of Executive was provided to the Union for distribution to members for the opening of nominations on Monday, 14 October 2024. The timetable for the election was advertised as follows:

- Nominations open at 9:00am on Monday, 14 October 2024;
- Nominations close at 5.00 pm on Friday, 25 October 2024;
- Secret Postal Ballot, if required, will open Wednesday, 13 November 2024;
- Ballot to close at midday on Thursday, 28 November 2024.





Nominations

Nomination forms were received by the following:

Office	No. of Positions	Nominees		
		ALLOTTA, Elizabeth		
		BURKE, Terence		
		CAREY, Andrew		
		CONNELLAN, Aleisha		
		ELLIOTT, Donna		
		GREGORY, Annette		
		KAPERNICK, Nicole		
		LENZO, Louise		
General Member of C	I Member of Council14	O'DEA, Colleen Elizabeth		
		ONG, Christina Anne Maree		
		PATERSON, Murray		
		PEKAR, Jake R		
		PICKERING, Anna		
		SAHLQVIST, Nicholas		
		SHANNON, Jacquelyn Christine		
		SISSON, Rebecca		
		SPILLANE, Madonna		
		WAGNER, Sylvia defective		
Branch Representat	tive Member of Council			
Bayside	1	No nomination received		
Central Queensland .	1	YOUNG, Karyl Joy		
Darling Downs	1	LOVE, Cameron James		
Early Childhood	1	FINLAY, Jennifer		
Far North Queensland	d1	DEWIS, Barbara		
Gold Coast	1	GREENING, Michelle Margaret		





Office	No. of Positions	Nominees
Logan	1	PATTEN, Alexandra
Mackay	1	GOODMAN, Dawn
Metropolitan	1	TYNDALE, Grayson
Moreton	1	GILLILAND, Clare
North Metropolitan	1	BROWN, John
North Queensland	1	HAWKINS, Erin
Principals	1	No nomination received
Sunshine Coast	1	GRUNDY, Heather
Wide Bay	1	SEALEY, Mark
Executive		
		HEENAN, Maria
Trustee	3	KENNEDY, John
		MCGOVERN, Desmond

Table 2 – Summary of Nominations

The following nomination was found to be defective and was rejected after allowing 7 days for it to be rectified.

• Sylvia Wagner – General Member of Council

The ECQ accepted the nomination of all other candidates as inquiries with the Union's membership records revealed that they are eligible for election to the positions of office contested.





Ballot

The ECQ was required to conduct a postal ballot to declare the position:

- General Member of Council

General Member of Council

Fourteen (14) to be elected

Postal Ballot

Postal ballots opened on 05/09/2024 and closed at midday on 30/09/2024.

Aggregate statistics for the postal ballots were as follows:

Ballots issued

- 15,171 members were eligible to vote
- 15,171 ballot papers were initially posted to eligible members

Ballots returned

1,511 ballot envelopes were returned to ECQ

30 did not proceed due to the ballot for the following reasons:

- Declaration envelopes returned with declaration slip removed
- Declaration on envelope was not signed
- Ballot paper returned outside of or no declaration envelope

A total of 1,481 declaration envelopes proceeded roll mark-off.

Note – 1 ballot paper equals up to fourteen (14) votes.

The result of the vote count for each position are as follows (in ballot paper order):

Candidates' name (in ballot paper order)	Total Votes	Status
ALLOTTA, Elizabeth	793	Elected
BURKE, Terry	1054	Elected
CAREY, Andrew	817	Elected
CONNELLAN, Aleisha	824	Elected
ELLIOTT, Donna	809	Elected





GREGORY, Annette	824	Elected
KAPERNICK, Nicole	838	Elected
LENZO, Louise	744	Elected
O'DEA, Colleen	531	
ONG, Christina	769	Elected
PATERSON, Murray	796	Elected
PEKAR, Jake	717	
PICKERING, Anna	870	Elected
SAHLQVIST, Nick	736	
SHANNON, Jacqui	890	Elected
SISSON, Rebecca	790	Elected
SPILLANE, Madonna	846	Elected
TOTAL	13648	

The ECQ will now proceed to conduct the election of the remaining Executive positions.

Declaration

I, <u>HAMISH GORNIAK</u>, an officer of the Electoral Commission of Queensland assigned to conduct an election by the Industrial Registrar in Decision RIO 2024/139 issued pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, <u>DECLARE THAT</u>: -

ELIZABETH ALLOTTA, TERENCE BURKE, ANDREW CAREY, ALEISHA CONNELLAN, DONNA ELLIOTT, ANNETTE GREGORY, NICOLE KAPERNICK, LOUISE LENZO, CHRISTINA ANNE MAREE ONG, MURRAY PATERSON, ANNA PICKERING, JACQUELYN CHRISTINE SHANNON, REBECCA SISSON and MADONNA SPILLANE are elected to the office of General Member of Council.

KARYL JOY YOUNG is elected to the office of Central Queensland Branch Representative Member of Council.

<u>CAMERON JAMES LOVE</u> is elected to the office of Darling Downs Branch Representative Member of Council.





<u>JENNIFER FINLAY</u> is elected to the office of Early Childhood Branch Representative Member of Council.

<u>BARBARA DEWIS</u> is elected to the office of Far North Queensland Branch Representative Member of Council.

<u>MICHELLE MARGARET GREENING</u> is elected to the office of Gold Coast Branch Representative Member of Council.

<u>ALEXANDRA PATTEN</u> is elected to the office of Logan Branch Representative Member of Council.

<u>DAWN GOODMAN</u> is elected to the office of Mackay Branch Representative Member of Council.

<u>GRAYSON TYNDALE</u> is elected to the office of Metropolitan Branch Representative Member of Council.

<u>CLARE GILLILAND</u> is elected to the office of Moreton Branch Representative Member of Council.

<u>JOHN BROWN</u> is elected to the office of North Metropolitan Branch Representative Member of Council.

<u>ERIN HAWKINS</u> is elected to the office of North Queensland Branch Representative Member of Council.

<u>HEATHER GRUNDY</u> is elected to the office of Sunshine Coast Branch Representative Member of Council.

<u>MARK SEALEY</u> is elected to the office of Wide Bay Branch Representative Member of Council.

MARIA HEENAN, JOHN KENNEDY and DESMOND MCGOVERN are elected to the office of Trustee.

within the <u>QUEENSLAND INDEPENDENT EDUCATION UNION OF EMPLOYEES</u> in accordance with the rules of the Industrial Organisation.

HAMISH GORNIAK Returning Officer 9 October 2024

