

# **Queensland Teachers Union of Employees**

## **Certificate of Election**

The Queensland Industrial Registrar issued Decisions, pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, on 21 June 2023 that the Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) conduct an election for the Queensland Teachers Union of Employees for the following positions:

Office	No. of Positions			
Branch Delegate to an Area Council				
Logan Redlands Area Cour	ncil			
Woodridge Branch	2			
Metropolitan Central Area	Council			
Sherwood Branch	1			
South Brisbane Branch	1			
Metropolitan North Area Co	ouncil			
Deception Bay Branch	1			
Geebung Branch	1			
Narangba Valley Branch	2			
North East Brisbane Branch.	1			
Pine Rivers North Branch	1			
Metropolitan South Area Co	ouncil			
Camp Hill Branch	1			
East Brisbane Branch	1			
Metropolitan West Logan A	rea Council			
Beaudesert Branch	2			
Fassifern Branch	2			
Ipswich East Branch	2			

Table 1 – Positions of Office

Office	No. of Positions
Branch Delegate to an Are	a Council cont.
Sunshine Coast Area Coul	ncil
Nambour Branch	2
State Council Representat	ive of a Branch
Blackwater Branch	1
Ipswich Branch	1
Mt Coot-tha Branch	1
Redlands Branch	1
Area Council Officers	
Logan Redlands Area Cou	ncil
Vice-President	1
TAFE Council Representate Group of Branches	tive for a Branch or
TQSW - Bundamba	1
TOR Logan	1





A Notice of Election and Nomination Form detailing the election arrangements was distributed to members in the Union journal on Friday, 21 July 2023. The timetable for the election was advertised as follows:

- Nominations open on Friday, 21 July 2023;
- Nominations close at midday on Monday, 21 August 2023;
- Secret Postal Ballot, if required, will open Friday, 29 September 2023;
- Ballot to close at midday on Tuesday, 7 November 2023.
- Attendance ballots, if required will be conducted at the relevant meeting after the close of nominations.

#### **Nominations**

Nomination forms were received by the following:

Office	No. of Positions	Nominees	
Branch Delegate to an Area Council			
Logan Redlands Area	Council		_
Woodridge Branch	2	BALE, Helen	
	2	HARMAN, Allyson	
Metropolitan Central Area Council			
Sherwood Branch	1	No nomination received	
South Brisbane Branch	1	No nomination received	
Metropolitan North A	rea Council		
Deception Bay Branch	1	No nomination received	
Geebung Branch	1	VAUGHAN, John	
Narangba Valley Branch2	O'CONNELL, William		
	SMITH, Christopher D		
North East Brisbane Br	anch1	No nomination received	
Pine Rivers North Bran	ch1	No nomination received	
Metropolitan South A	rea Council		
Camp Hill Branch	1	No nomination received	





East Brisbane Branch1	No nomination received	
Metropolitan West Logan Area Council		
Beaudesert Branch2	MACNAMARA, Paul	
Fassifern Branch2	No nomination received	
Ipswich East Branch2	NORTH, Rachel L	
Sunshine Coast Area Council		
Nambour Branch2	KITZELMAN, Brett	
State Council Representative of a Branch		
Blackwater Branch1	PRYOR, Kate	
Ipswich Branch1	No nomination received	
Mt Coot-tha Branch1	No nomination received	
Redlands Branch1	No nomination received	
Area Council Officers		
Logan Redlands Area Council		
Vice-Present1	No nomination received	
TAFE Council Representative for a Branch or Group of Branches		
TQSW - Bundamba1	No nomination received	
TQB - Logan1	No nomination received	

Table 2 – Summary of Nomination

The ECQ accepted the nomination of all candidates as inquiries with the Union's membership records revealed that they are eligible for election to the positions of office contested.





### **Ballots**

The ECQ was not required to conduct a ballot to declare the positions.

#### **Declaration**

I, <u>SUZANNE PETA BALL</u>, an officer of the Electoral Commission of Queensland assigned to conduct an election by the Industrial Registrar in Decisions RIO 2023/ 100-106 issued pursuant to the *Industrial Relations Act 2016*, DECLARE THAT: -

<u>HELEN BALE</u> and <u>ALLYSON HARMAN</u> are elected to the office of Woodridge Branch Delegate to Logan Redlands Area Council.

<u>JOHN VAUGHAN</u> was elected to the office of Geebung Branch Delegate to Metropolitan North Area Council.

<u>WILLIAM O'CONNELL</u> and <u>CHRISTOPHER D SMITH</u> are elected to the office of Narangba Valley Branch Delegate to Metropolitan North Area Council.

<u>PAUL MACNAMARA</u> is elected to the office of Beaudesert Branch Delegate to Metropolitan West Logan Area Council.

<u>RACHEL L NORTH</u> is elected to the office of Ipswich East Branch Delegate to Metropolitan West Logan Area Council.

<u>BRETT KITZELMAN</u> is elected to the office of Nambour Branch Delegate to Sunshine Coast Area Council.

<u>KATE PRYOR</u> is elected to the office of State Council Representative of Blackwater Branch.

within the <u>QUEENSLAND TEACHERS UNION OF EMPLOYEES</u> in accordance with the Rules of the Industrial Organisation.

Suzanne Ball **Returning Officer** 29 August 2023

